Gems 1


gems1Gems 1 features 14 tracks of attractive pieces or movements from larger works, some familiar others less so,but all of them gems in their own right. Several tracks feature pieces arranged for piano duet by the composers themselves or pieces which are more popularly heard in their orchestral version but were originally written for piano duet.The tracks were recorded on a wonderful ‘period’ Broadwood piano of 1912 which has been regulated but otherwise in virtually original condition at the time of the recording.



Pieces featured

  1. Brahms: Hungarian Dance No.1
  2. Chaminade: Automne from op.35
  3. Debussy: En Bateau from Petite Suite
  4. Dvorak: Slavonic Dance op.72 No.2 in e
  5. Fauré: Le jardin de Dolly from Dolly Suite op.56
  6. Grieg: Morning from Peer Gynt
  7. Mendelssohn: Song Without Words op.30 No.1
  8. Moszkowski: Spanish Dance op.12 No.3
  9. Rachmaninov: Barcarolle from op.11
  10. Ravel: Laideronnette from Ma Mère l’Oye
  11. Smith: The Fairy Queen
  12. Fauré: Cantique de Jean Racine op.11
  13. Schubert/Liszt: Ständchen D920
  14. Verdi: Chorus of Hebrew Slaves from Nabucco

Gems 2


gems2Following on from the success of 'Gems 1', we are delighted to announce the release of 'Gems 2', featuring 18 tracks of pieces which continue the revival of piano duet treasures and seeks to promote the piano duet ensemble with more recently composed works also. Some tracks were recorded on the same ‘period’ Broadwood piano of 1912 as GEMS 1 and some on a Steinway O made in 1917 which was fully restored in 2004/5. Both pianos come from an era which can give an idea of how most of the music could have sounded.



Pieces on the CD:

  1. Calvini: La Chasse aux Gazelles
  2. John Carmichael: Bahama Rumba
  3. Chaminade: Le Matin
  4. Brian Chapple: A Bit of a Blow mvmt 1
  5. Fauré: Masques et Bergamasques Overture
  6. German: 2 Dances from Nell Gwyn
  7. Gliere: Scherzo op.48 no.11
  8. Grieg: Solveig's Cradle Song; Symphonic Piece op.14 no.2
  9. Bach/Kurtag: Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit
  10. Ludwig: Humoristiche Variationen
  11. Mendelssohn: Nocturne & Scherzo from A Midsummer Night's Dream
  12. Moszkowski: Mesto & Valse from Kaleidoskop op.74
  13. Rachmaninov: Romance from Six Morceaux op.11
  14. Tchaikovsky/Rachmaninov: Valse from Sleeping Beauty op. 66a

How To Buy

We hope soon to have the facility to take orders via this website - in the meantime, please contact us via the contact page if you would like to purchase a CD.